All about the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

All about the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare primarily deals with health care, including awareness campaigns, immunization campaigns, preventive medicine, and public health. It is also responsible for all government programs relating to family planning in India. As it is a government ministry, it is headed by a cabinet minister.

  1. The vision of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare:
  • The attainment of the highest possible level of health and well-being for all through preventive and promotive health care and universal access to good quality health services without anyone facing financial hardship as a consequence.
  1. The mission of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare:
  • Ensure availability of quality healthcare on an equitable, accessible, and affordable basis across regions and communities
  • Establish comprehensive primary healthcare delivery system and well-functioning linkages with secondary and tertiary care health delivery system
  • Develop the training capacity for providing human resources with an adequate skill mix at all levels
  • Regulate health service delivery and promote rational use of pharmaceuticals in the country

The various departments under Health and Welfare are:

  1. VBD Section
  2. Blindness Control
  3. Bureau of Planning
  4. Cancer Control Programme
  5. CCA
  6. Central Design Bureau
  7. CHS
  8. Drugs Food Quality control division
  9. Emergency Medical Relief
  10. IC & IH
  11. Immunization
  12. Medical Education
  13. Medical Tourism
  14. Mental Health Division
  15. National Programme For Prevention and Control of Cancer, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke(NPCDCS)
  16. National Programme for Health Care of the Elderly NPHCE
  17. National Programme for Prevention and Control of Deafness (NPPCD)
  18. National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme
  19. NGO Division
  20. NHM Finance
  21. NHM Policy & Planning
  22. NUHM
  23. Infrastructure & HR Division
  24. e-Health & Telemedicine
  25. Medical Education Policy – II
  26. Dental
  27. Nursing
  28. Allied Health Sciences(AHS)
  29. PMSSY
  30. PNDT
  31. Principal Accounts Office
  32. Training
  33. Procurement
  34. Revised National Tuberculosis Programme
  35. Statistics Division
  36. Training Division
  37. Activities of Health and Family Welfare
  38. OP & Nirodh Marketing

The Department of Family Welfare is also responsible for:

  • 18 Population Research Centres (PRCs) at six universities and six other institutions across 17 states
  • The National Institute of Health and Family Welfare (NIHFW), South Delhi
  • International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS), Mumbai
  • Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow
  • Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), New Delhi

Note: All information has been sourced from the official website of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

Written by Ritik Gupta

His name is Ritik Gupta; currently pursuing law. He has always kept pride as his everything. He deems writing as not like any other hobby but a reflection of one’s intellectuality. He likes to research on the parasitic problems and then lay them down in such a means that can be of assistance to the society. He just not studies law but treats it a controversial weapon to defeat the wrong.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Why is it important to have a Child Insurance Plan?

Why get Travel Insurance and Personal Accident Insurance?